The Mies van der Rohe Award 2022

The long list of nominees for the EU Mies Award has been announced. 449 projects will now compete for a place on the shortlist.

Petersen Tegl is pleased and proud to have supplied bricks for six of the nominations:

Z33, House for Contemporary Art, Hasselt, Belgium. An extension to the existing museum designed by the architect Francesca Torzo. The building is clad with custom-produced, hand-made, and rhombus-shaped bricks, developed by the architect in close collaboration with Petersen Tegl.

Museum De Lakenhal in Leiden, The Netherlands. An extension to the historical museum, for which the architects Happel Cornelisse Verhoeven chose D190 for the façades. The architects also designed a large number of the moulded bricks used to achieve the patterns they wanted.

Stenhöga Office Building in Stockholm, designed by the architects Tham & Videgård, who chose D71 for the facades. The Mies van der Rohe jury says: ‘’the office buildings were developed around the idea that the most sustainable buildings are those which remain in use the longest. Robustness is crucial to longevity, so solid and reliable construction methods are fundamental.’’

3 Traction Stations Brabo 2 in Antwerpen, Belgium, designed by Van Belle & Medina Architects, who created the stations differently making use of the individuel, local  settings. D72 is the common denomiater.

Muslim Burial and Prayer House, Hamburg. Architect Medine Altiok added the new building, using D71, to Finkenriek cemetery. The vision was to create a worthy atmosphere which combines the Hanseatic as well as the Muslim tradition of building culture.

Pierres Blanches Cultural centre. Raum. Saint -Jean-Boisseau, France. According to the Mies van der Rohe jury, ‘’the architects have managed to create the contemporaneity of an architectural writing, sober and playful.’’ The architects chose D71 for the building complex.

The biennial Mies van der Rohe Award (The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture) was established in 1987. Run by the EU and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe in Barcelona, the award recognises high-quality building. The competition is open to all works completed in the previous two years.

Alvaro Siza was the first architect to receive the Mies van der Rohe Award in 1988 for the Banco Borges e Irmäo in Villa do Conde, Portugal.